DejaView News

Drama-infused streaming news

15 TV Shows With Episodes Out Of Order On Disney+

Updated: July 21, 2022: OMG THEY FIXED THE EPISODE ORDER OF X-MEN!!!!!!!!!!!

Disney+ policy for episodes is they upload them in the order they aired. Unfortunately, Disney Channel scheduling execs aired many live action series out of production order which resulted in some choppy storytelling and aging up and down of actors. However, those issues are not the priority to fix. Most of those series didn’t have real continuity. “Oh no, someone’s hairstyle changed between episodes!” Yeah, that stuff isn’t worth bugging their team over…

These series listed below have more egregious errors that do need to be fixed. Usually it’s a pilot or finale in the wrong spot. In about half of these cases the episodes are not even in air order. Disney’s database has been shown to have incorrect airdates for some which resulted in the team uploading them in ways that damage the stories.

In conjunction with Josh Shepherd at What’s On Disney Plus, an army of redditors, and a few obsessive fans on Twitter, we present this list of Disney+ shows with episodes out of order. In a departure from the list on What’s on Disney Plus we are NOT including shows without continuity or narrative issues. The only fixes necessary are these 16. I will update here if anything is ever fixed. You’d have to hope someday this page would be irrelevant.

Update: Disney has refused to fix anything despite countless reports. The last episode order fix was one year ago. These fixes could easily be hammered out in 1 day based on them fixing 3 in one hour last spring. Bottom line: There isn’t enough pressure from press or people of influence to make them care.

1) Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes (2010-2012)

Season 2 episode 26 (Powerless) should be listed as Season 2 episode 15 where it fits narratively. It is not the series finale. The current episodes 1-2 (The Breakout Part 1 and 2) should be episodes 6 and 7. These fixes are all present on Prime Video.

Episodes 1 and 2 are actually 6 and 7.

2) Bonkers (1993-1994)

Episodes 46 and 47 (Going Bonkers Part 1 and 2) should be re-ordered as the pilot episodes. They are the introduction to the characters and show.

Introducing the Bonkers characters in episode 46? Makes sense.

3) Chip ‘n’ Dale Rescue Rangers (1989-1990)

Episodes 13-17 (Rescue Rangers to the Rescue) should be re-ordered as the pilot episodes 1-5. They are the introduction to the characters and show, originally aired as movie event. Even more awful – a reboot coming in July will bring attention to the series and new fans will be discouraged to discover the introduction to the story is 13 episodes in.

Rescue Rangers is out of order

4) Darkwing Duck (1991-1992)

Season 1 episodes 29 and 30 (Darkly Dawns the Duck Part 1-2) are pilot episodes and should be reordered as episodes 1 and 2. They are the introduction to the characters and show, originally aired as a movie event.

Darkwing Duck’s pilot eepisodes are listed as 29 and 30. Great.

5) Even Stevens (2000-2003)

Season 1 episode 19 (A Weak First Week) should be listed as Episode 1, it introduces the characters / story. The series is currently in neither air order nor production order anyway, so something went wrong. This episode didn’t air first, but it is the pilot. Even the last name is different and so is the actress playing the mom. Please fix a longtime fan complaint by moving this episode to #1 and doing what Disney Channel was too silly to do – start with the pilot.

6) Fantastic Four: World’s Greatest Heroes (2006-2010)

Episode 3 (Doomsday) should be reordered to Episode 1 because it is the pilot. The DVD release fixed this airdate issue. Would you please to?

7) Fish Hooks (2010-2013)

The current Episode 4 (Bea Stays in the Picture) should be listed first, it introduces the characters as the pilot. Episode 13 of Season 3 (The Big Woo) should be reordered to the last one, as it is the series finale.

Much like Lizzie McGuire, the characters graduate in the series finale (seen here as #13). Also like Lizzie McGuire, Disney+ lists multiple episodes after the story ends. Weee.

8) Hercules: The Animated Series (1998-1999)

The show’s current Episode 12 (Hercules and the First Day of School) aired as the pilot and should be Episode 1. After all, he can’t have his first day after 11 episodes of already being in school… it’s not framed as a flashback. It’s the literal pilot.

The Hercules pilot is listed as episode 12

9) Iron Man Armored Adventures (2008-2010)

The show’s current Episode 5 (Crimson Dynamo) and Episode 6 (Whiplash) should be switched in order. it literally gives fans whiplash to travel back in time between the two episodes. This one is 100% Disney’s fault. The two episodes aired on the same day and Disney+ has a strange bug where episodes that air on the same day get flipped in order. It’s happened 3 times that we’ve caught including Tangled and Austin & Ally (both now fixed). You’d think with Marvel being a major selling point they’d fix this… but instead they have 3 (!) Marvel toons with episode order issues.

10) Kim Possible (2002-2007)

Episode 4, “Tick Tick Tick” is actually the pilot. This is the correct chronological order. If Disney wanted to do longtime fans a solid they’d use the script order that fans compiled and throw out their air order.

The Kim Possible pilot aired 4th, but it literally introduces the damn story and I watched it to confirm. Move it to #1.

11) Lizzie McGuire (2001-2004)

The current Season 1 Episode 4 (Pool Party) should be episode 1. Season 2 episode 24 (Bye Bye Hillridge Junior High) should be season 2 episode 34 (the series finale). Also, subscribe to Paramount+ and watch iCarly reboot. Show Disney what they lost by cancelling Lizzie’s reboot.

Like Fish Hooks, Disney+ has multiple episodes listed after the graduation-themed series finale that leads into the movie. So frustrating.

12) Phil of the Future (2004-2006)

Season 1 episode 10 (Future Tutor) is the pilot, so it should be reordered as episode 1. It introduces the show and its characters. Notice a trend here with the episode orders? Almost always it’s a pilot being mid-season. FIX THEM PLEEEASE.

The story begins… in episode 10. Sigh.

13) Super Robot Monkey Team Hyperforce Go (2004-2006)

Two episodes are currently misplaced. Season 1 episode 26 (Skeleton King Threat) should be between 23 and 24. In season 2, episodes 9 (Big Lug) and 10 (Meet the Wigglenog) need to be flipped. After Disney+ Hotstar revealed the original airdates fans were able to confirm Disney’s database is wrong. Since it’s their mistake, they should fix it soon but it’s been over a calendar year since they uploaded it wrong and still we wait.

It’s so easy – the “meeting” takes place in 9, not 10. Swap these two!!

14) Wizards of Waverly Place (2007-2012)

Current Episode 10 (Pop Me and We Both Go Down) should be between Episodes 1 and 2. Justin has to meet his girlfriend before they date, not after.

Justin asks a girl out in episode 10. But he’s already dating her in episode 2. C’MON!

15) X-Men: Evolution (2000-2003)

Season 3 episode 13 (Cruise Control) should be between episodes 9 and 10.  It was not produced as the season finale and takes place mid-season.

X-Men Evolution is yet another example of Disney+ listing midseason stories after a season finale.


  1. X-Men: The Animated Series (1992-1997)